

Chair

Richard P. Binzel Massachusetts Inst. of Technology Dept. of EAPS / MS 54-410 Cambridge, MA 02139-4301 (617) 253-6486 fax -2886 rpb@mit.edu

Vice-Chair

Jonathan Lunine Lunar and Planetary Lab University of Arizona Tucson, AZ 85721-0092 (520) 621-2789 fax -8250 jlunine@lpl.arizona.edu

Secretary

John Spencer Southwest Research Institute Dept. of Space Studies 1050 Walnut St., #400 Boulder, CO 80302 303-546-9674 fax -9687 spencer@boulder.swri.edu

Treasurer

Diana Blanev Jet Propulsion Laboratory MS 183-501 Pasadena, CA 91109 818-354-5419 fax -0966 Diana.L.Blaney@jpl.nasa.gov

Press Officer

Sanjay S. Limaye University of Wisconsin 1225 West Dayton Street Madison, WI 53706-1695 608-262-9541 fax -5974 SanjayL@ssec.wisc.edu

EPO Officer

Jennifer Grier Planetary Science Institute 9741 Early Spring Way Columbia, MD 21046 617-549-7252 jgrier@psi.edu

COMMITTEE

Guy Consolmagno SJ Specola Vaticana Athéna Coustenis Observatoire de Paris-Meudon Susan Lederer California State University Rosaly Lopes-Gautier Jet Propulsion Laboratory Adam Showman University of Arizona Amy Simon-Miller Goddard Space Flight Center Roger Yelle University of Arizona

Unanimous resolution of the Division for Planetary Sciences of the American Astronomical Society, as voted by the membership attending the 39th Annual Meeting on Wednesday October 10, 2007.

RESOLVED:

The Division for Planetary Sciences of the Astronomical Society American recognizes the importance of the Arecibo Observatory and its planetary radar capability to our science and to planetary protection issues. We fervently hope a resolution to the Arecibo budget impasse will be found that maintains the viability of this critical facility.

Richard P. Binzel. Chair

Distribution:

Arden L. Bement, Director Tony F. Chan, Assistant Director G. Wayne van Citters, Division Director Richard A. Behnke, Division Director National Science Foundation

Dr. Richard Obermann Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics U.S. House of Representatives

Dr. E. G. Feddeman Committee on Science and Technology U.S. House of Representatives